Delhi Police witnesses significant shake-up: Top officials reassigned

| Updated: 12 January, 2024 8:46 pm IST

New Delhi: In a major administrative overhaul, the Delhi Police transferred 13 of its top officials to different departments on Friday.
The most notable change is the transfer of HGS Dhaliwal, who was the Special Commissioner of Police (Special Cell), to the traffic wing. Dhaliwal was leading the investigation of the Parliament attack case, which shook the nation in December 2023. He will now serve as the Special CP of Traffic.
Rajender Pal Upadhyay, who was the Special CP of the media cell, will replace Dhaliwal as the head of the Special Cell, which deals with terrorism and other sensitive cases.
Another IPS officer who was moved from the Special Cell is Ingit Pratap Singh, who was the Deputy Commissioner of Police (DCP). He has been appointed as the DCP of the Vigilance Branch, which monitors the conduct and performance of the police personnel.
Sagar Preet Hooda, who was the Special CP of Law and Order (Zone – II), has been shifted to the Operation wing, which handles the communication and emergency response systems of the Delhi Police. He will be succeeded by Ravinder Singh Yadav, who was the Special CP of Crime.
Deependra Pathak, who was the Special CP of Law and Order (Zone – I), has been transferred to the Security wing, which is responsible for the protection of VIPs and vital installations. Madhup Kumar Tiwari, who was the Special CP of the Protective Security Division, will take over Pathak’s role.
SS Yadav, who was the Special CP of Traffic, has been moved to the Economic Offences Wing (EOW), which investigates financial crimes and frauds. Yadav was involved in the probe of the murder case of wrestler Sagar Dhankar, in which Olympic medalist Sushil Kumar was arrested as the prime suspect.
Shalini Singh, who was the Special CP of Crime, has been transferred to the Crime Branch, which handles complex and sensational cases.
Usha Rangnani, who was the DCP of the Special Branch, has been posted to the Indira Gandhi International (IGI) Airport. Chhaya Sharma, who was the Special CP of Training, has been given the additional charge of Special Police Unit for Women and Children (SPUWAC).
Virender Singh, who was the Special CP of Traffic, has been transferred to the Licensing Unit, which issues licenses for various activities and events. K Jegadesan, who was the Special CP of SPUWAC, has also been transferred to the Traffic Unit.
The transfers are seen as a part of the routine reshuffle of the senior officers of the Delhi Police, which is headed by the Commissioner of Police, Sanjay arora.


Also Read Story

AAP blames BJP for vandalizing Delhi Jal Board office amid water crisis protest

Union Home Minister chairs high-level J&K security review meeting in Delhi

Santanu Sinha issues second apology letter for BJP’s Amit Malviya

Elon Musk sparks debate on EVM security, Rahul Gandhi questions transparency