Congress Second UP List Out; 41 Candidates Include 16 Women Leaders

| Updated: 20 January, 2022 1:15 pm IST

NEW DELHI: Days after Congress released its first list of candidates for Uttar Pradesh, the grand old party on Thursday released its second list of 41 candidates, including 16 women candidates and social activists.

The Congress has till date released the list for 191 assembly constituencies in the politically vital state. As per the new list, the Congress has fielded Haji Akhlaq from Kairana assembly constituency, and Mohammad Ayub Jang from Shamli assembly seat.

The party has named Sukhwindar Kaur from Saharanpur Nagar assembly; Dr Yashmeen Rana from Charthawal assembly seat; Subodh Sharma from Muzaffarnagar assembly seat; Gaurav Bhati from Khatauli; Ranjan Sharma from Meerut, Nafees Saifi from Meerut South and Avanish Kajala from Meerut cantt assembly seats.

ALSO READ: Unnao Rape Victim’s Mother, Anti-CAA Protestor In Priyanka’s 1st UP List Of 125; 50 Women 

From Baghpat, the Congress has fielded Anil Dev Tyagi; Sangeeta Tyagi from Sahibabad, Neeraj Kumar Prajapati from Modinagar, Bhaskar Malik from Hapur (SC) and Sikandar Valmiki from Agra cantt (SC) seat.

The list also includes the name of former party spokesperson Rajeev Tyagi’s wife Sangeeta Tyagi; Poonam Pandit, who participated in year long farmers’ protest and Sikandar Valmiki who was suspended for taking out candle light March against the Hathras gangrape case.

Tyagi, whose husband died during a live debate on a news channel, has been fielded from Sahihabad assembly seat.  Tyagi had approached the Supreme Court against the hate debates on news channels. Her husband Rajiv Tyagi was Congress prominent media face.

Valmiki, who has been fielded from Agra cantt assembly seat, is an activist known to have raised his voice against the BJP government for atrocities against the Valmiki community. Sikandar, who was an employee of the Jal Nigam of Uttar Pradesh left his job to fight against the oppression as he was suspended for leading the candle light March against the death of Hathras gangrape victim. He had also raised the issue of custodial death of Arun Valmiki in Agra.  Poonam Pandit, the candidate from Shyana assembly seat had participated in the year long farmers’s protest and was one of the prominent voice of the movement.

Candidate Tukki Mal Khatik from Khurja assembly seat is also an activist and has been vocal on social issues. During the first wave of Covid pandemic, Khatik was providing food to migrant workers going back to their native places and provided ration to hundreds of families. Khatik has also been president of Congress in Bulandshahr.

Another activist candidate, Rahul Kashyap from Bhadot assembly seat, has been actively raising his voice to fight for the rights of backward community. He had earlier contested Jill Panchayat polls.

The grand old party is eyeing a comeback in Uttar Pradesh where it has been out of power for last 32 years since 1989. Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, who is also the incharge of Uttar Pradesh, had earlier announced that the party will field 40 per cent women candidates in the state.

The assembly polls in Uttar Pradesh is scheduled in seven phases from February 10 to March 7. Counting of votes will take place on March 10.

Also Read Story

What Kejriwal can do & can’t: Here’s what conditions in SC bail order are…

SC grants interim bail to Kejriwal, but to remain in jail

Rahul Gandhi urges civility towards Smriti Irani following Lok Sabha results

CBI arrests alleged mastermind in NEET-UG paper leak case