Chhattisgarh polls: Raipur constituency sees all-women managed polling booths

| Updated: 17 November, 2023 8:27 pm IST
A voter poses for the camera during CG's second phase of polls (Photo: ECI)

KOLKATA: In a first in State Assembly election history, Raipur North’s constituency in Chhattisgarh had all of its polling booths managed by female personnel on Friday.

“These all-women managed polling booths provided a sense of comfort and security for all voters, especially the female and third gender voters for more inclusive election” said an Election Commission of India official. The polling booths were deployed with 1046 women across the 201 polling booths in the constituency. 

All-women managed polling stations were not just seen in Raipur North but also across the state during the second phase with around 700 of them being managed by female personnel, while 70 were managed by the Public Works Department. Around 350 model polling stations were also set up, including special theme-based polling stations for tribal communities. 


According to the latest ECI data, the state witnessed a voter turnout of 68.15 per cent across the 70 constituencies, while Chhattisgarh’s Dhamtri district witnessed the highest voter turnout at 79.89 per cent.

On the other hand, the capital city of Raipur witnessed the lowest voter turnout at 58.33 per cent. 

The second phase of the elections saw numerous heavyweights from Bharatiya Janata Party and Congress party casting their votes in their respective constituencies, including Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel. Alongside the CM, Governor Biswabhusan Harichandan, Deputy CM TS Singh Deo, state assembly speaker Charandas Mahant, state ministers Ravindra Choubey, Anila Bhedia, Amarjeet Bhagat and Jaisingh Agrawal also cast their vote during this phase.


Moreover, BJP’s possible CM face, Arun Sao, the Lok Sabha MP from Lormi, union minister Renuka Singh and former CM Raman Singh also cast their vote during the Phase-II of the elections.

In 2018, the state had seen Congress claiming 17 of the 20 constituencies in the first phase of the Assembly elections. 

Chhattisgarh had gone for its first phase of elections in 20 constituencies on November 7.

Alongside the state, four other states have also gone for their assembly elections including Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram, Telangana and Rajasthan. The results of all the states are slated to be released on December 3.

ALSO READ: Chhattisgarh’s second phase polling: BJP highlights scams, Congress emphasises schemes

Also Read Story

Local terrorist support zero, few agents active: J&K Police Chief

Odisha BJP delivers: Jagannath Temple gates open to all

NEET paper leak scandal: Confession revealed

Jammu region records fourth terror attack in four days