BJP Fields 5 Ex CMs as Candidates in Second Lok Sabha Election List

At least 5 former CMs are in the poll fray and this includes Former Karnataka CM Basavaraj Bommai, Trivendra Singh Rawat, Manohar Lal Khattar, Biplab Kumar Deb and Shivraj Singh Chouhan.

| Updated: 13 March, 2024 9:52 pm IST

NEW DELHI: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has unveiled its second list of candidates, revealing the participation of 5 prominent former Chief Ministers in the electoral fray. This includes Former Karnataka CM Basavaraj Bommai, Trivendra Singh Rawat, Manohar Lal Khattar, Biplab Kumar Deb and Shivraj Singh Chouhan.

Among the notable candidates featured in the BJP’s latest list is Basavaraj Bommai, the former Chief Minister of Karnataka, who is poised to contest from the Haveri-Gadag seat. Bommai, who served as Karnataka’s Chief Minister from July 2021 to May 2023, brings a wealth of administrative experience to his candidacy. His decision to contest from his home district reflects a commitment to grassroots representation. This constituency is currently represented by the BJP’s Shivkumar Udasi since 2009.

ALSO READ: Nayab Singh Saini to replace Khattar as Haryana CM

Trivendra Singh Rawat, the erstwhile Chief Minister of Uttarakhand, emerges as another significant contender, set to contest from Haridwar. Rawat’s tenure from March 2017 to March 2021 witnessed notable developments in Uttarakhand, and his candidacy underscores the BJP’s focus on leveraging regional leadership prowess. The Haridwar constituency is currently lead by BJP leader Ramesh Pokhriyal.

Manohar Lal Khattar, the former Chief Minister of Haryana, steps into the electoral arena from the Karnal seat, signaling a seamless transition from state to national politics. The Karnal seat is currently held by BJP MP Sanjay Bhatia.

Biplab Kumar Deb, the 10th Chief Minister of Tripura, emerges as a key candidate from Tripura West, bringing his administrative acumen to the electoral forefront. Deb’s tenure from 2018 to 2022 saw transformative initiatives in Tripura. He was the member of the Tripura Legislative Assembly from Banamalipur constituency from 2018 to 2022. Pratima Bhoumik is the current MP from Tripura West constituency.

ALSO READ: Congress hit as national secretary Ajay Kapoor joins BJP

Shivraj Singh Chouhan, the former Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, reaffirms his political stature by contesting from Vidisha, a constituency he has represented five times in the past. In 1991, Shivraj Singh Chouhan contested the Lok Sabha Elections and won the Vidisha seat. The sitting MP from Vidisha seat is Ramakant Bhargava from BJP.

The general elections, anticipated to occur in April-May, await formal scheduling by the Election Commission of India (ECI). With the political landscape poised for dynamic shifts, the BJP’s nomination of former Chief Ministers brings an intresting twist.

Also Read Story

Bibhav Kumar, Kejriwal’s aide, sent to 4-day custody in Maliwal case

World Schizophrenia Day 2024: Reasons and Treatment

Pune Porsche crash: Teen’s bail revoked, adult trial ordered

Delhi braces for intense 2024 Lok Sabha battle