BJP alleges AAP conspiracy behind bedlam in MCD

AAP & BJP councillors came to blows when MCD house convened for election of mayor & deputy mayor on Friday.

| Updated: 06 January, 2023 5:25 pm IST

Union minister Meenakshi Lekhi led the Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) charge on the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) over the violent scuffle in the house of the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) on Friday. She accused CM Arvind Kejriwal’s party of a “conspiracy”.

Councillors of the BJP and AAP came to blows following an argument over the appointment of 10 aldermen by Lieutenant Governor VK Saxena on the very first day of the meeting of the newly elected House on Friday.

At least three councillors of the BJP and around 10 members of AAP suffered injuries as leaders punched each other and fought with chairs in the full media glare.

AAP leaders objected to the LG’s decision of appointing the chairperson and calling nominated councillors for oath-taking.

Speaking to reporters, Lekhi said that LG Saxena is empowered to nominate councillors and the chairperson of the House to conduct proceedings in a “fair manner”.

ALSO READ: MCD Mayor Elections: AAP, BJP councillors clash over aldermen appointment

“There was also a conspiracy by AAP since the start that they will not let the smooth functioning of the House. We are completely within the purview of law,” she emphasised.

Defending the chairperson’s decision to facilitate the oath-taking of nominated members, she said, “Had the order been reversed and nominated members were asked to take oath later, then these people would not have allowed that to happen. Discretion was exercised in accordance with the law.”

The first meeting of the unified MCD began with BJP councillor Satya Sharma being administered the oath as presiding officer for the elections of mayor and deputy mayor.

After Sharma invited alderman Manoj Kumar to take the oath, AAP MLAs and councillors began to protest and shout slogans, rushing to the Well of the House.

In protest, AAP members said that the presiding officer was supposed to be that of AAP, and not of the BJP. They also said that nominated aldermen were to be appointed by the Delhi government and not the LG.

“Nominated members can’t cast vote,” protested AAP leader Saurabh Bhardwaj.

Former North Delhi municipal corporation chief Jai Prakash claimed that there were differences within AAP over the mayor post and the ruckus was created to avert any embarrassment to the party in elections.

“AAP seems to be a divided house in this election. They have the majority in the House. What are they afraid of? How does it matter if nominated members are sworn in first,” he asked.

At least three councillors of the BJP were injured in the scuffle and were rushed to a hospital, the former mayor informed The New Indian.

Also Read Story

New Delhi NEET paper solver gang busted; four arrested

Bibhav Kumar arrested in Swati Maliwal assault case

India, Pakistan advise students in Kyrgyzstan to stay indoors amid mob violence

Delhi Police record Swati Maliwal’s 164 CrPC statement