Lucknow to host 1st T20I as BCCI revises schedule of Sri Lanka’s tour to India

| Updated: 15 February, 2022 6:13 pm IST

The Board of Cricket Control in India (BCCI) has announced a revised schedule for the upcoming Sri Lanka tour of India, keeping in the mind the assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh. The assembly polls in UP are being held in seven phases, the last of which will take place on March 7.

The tour will now begin with the T20Is, with the first match to be played at the Ekana Stadium in Lucknow on February 24, followed by the second and third T20Is in Dharamsala on February 26 and 27 respectively.

“The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) today announced a change in schedule for the upcoming Paytm Sri Lanka Tour of India. Sri Lanka will first play the T20I series comprising three matches followed by a two-match Test series, which will be a part of the ICC World Test Championship, 2021-23. Lucknow will now host the first T20I while the next two will be played in Dharamsala,” a statement released by the BCCI said.

After the T20Is, both teams will play two Tests matches at Mohali and Bengaluru. Mohali match will be the 100th Test for Virat Kohli, while the second Test at Bengaluru, starting from March 12, will be a day-night encounter.

According to the original schedule, the series would have started with a Test in Bengaluru followed by another Test, and a T20I in Mohali with the last two T20Is in Dharamsala and Lucknow.

Below is the revised schedule of Sri Lanka’s tour of India:

1st T20I – February 24, Lucknow

2nd T20I – February 26, Dharamsala

3rd T20I – February 27, Dharamsala

1st Test – March 4 to 8, Mohali

2nd Test – March 12 to 16, Bengaluru

Also Read Story

Bibhav Kumar, Kejriwal’s aide, sent to 4-day custody in Maliwal case

World Schizophrenia Day 2024: Reasons and Treatment

Pune Porsche crash: Teen’s bail revoked, adult trial ordered

Delhi braces for intense 2024 Lok Sabha battle