After BJP, Desertion Bug Bites Mayawati Led BSP As Rambir Upadhyay Resigns From Party

| Updated: 14 January, 2022 2:51 pm IST

LUCKNOW: In the season of desertions ahead of the 2022 Uttar Pradesh Assembly polls, now Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has also suffered a massive jolt as senior party leader Ramvir Upadhyay resigned from the party.

In his resignation letter to BSP supremo Mayawati, Upadhyay, who is an MLA from Sadabad assembly constituency said, “I have been a party worker since 1996 and in these 25 years, I have worked hard to take the party forward.”

“But despite being in power, the party was unable to get good results in 2009 Lok Sabha elections, lost in 2012 assembly elections. This was followed by terrible results in 2014 Lok Sabha elections as well as 2017 assembly elections,” he said.

The former State Minister said that despite him asking for a review of party’s dismal performance in several elections, nothing was done.

“Ahead of 2019 Lok Sabha elections, I had warned you (Mayawati) of poor results as the vote and cadre were shifting out from the BSP, and I was suspended from the party for highlighting the same. Due to my suspension from the party, my supporters also felt hurt. As BSP is no more the party that follows the principles of Kanshiram, I am resigning from the party,” Upadhyay said.

The BSP got a brute majority in 2007 assembly polls by following the special engineering in the state.

Recently, BJP also suffered a massive jolt in poll bound state as three ministers and six MLAs have resigned the party in the last three days. All the BJP leaders are set to join Samajwadi Party later in the day.

The Uttar Pradesh will go to polls in seven phases from February 10 to March 7 counting of votes will take place on March 10.

Also Read Story

EVM manipulation allegations in Mumbai Election: Officials refute claims

AAP blames BJP for vandalizing Delhi Jal Board office amid water crisis protest

Union Home Minister chairs high-level J&K security review meeting in Delhi

Santanu Sinha issues second apology letter for BJP’s Amit Malviya