2024 Lok Sabha Elections: Chandigarh

| Updated: 01 April, 2024 2:37 pm IST

For the 2024 elections, the political scenario in Chandigarh is poised for heightened political activity and engagement. A significant two-cornered contest has emerged with the Congress and AAP joining forces, aiming to thwart the BJP’s quest for a third consecutive victory.

Number of constituencies:1

Names of constituencies: Chandigarh     Current MP: Kirron Kher (BJP)

Polling Schedule and Constituencies:-
The polling will unfold in a single phase
7th Phase: June 1, 2024
Constituencies:  All

Number of voters:   6,47,291

To date, Chandigarh has 6.47 lakh registered voters, of which 3.35 lakh are male voters, 3.12 lakh are female voters and 33 are third-gender voters.

Of these, 15,006 individuals are first-time voters in the age group 18-19 while 4,799 are voters above 85 years of age.

Contesting parties:

Bharatiya Janata Party and the Congress-Aam Aadmi Party alliance, are two key constituents of the INDIA bloc.

Main contestants:

Among the top contenders for the Congress ticket are four-time MP and former Union minister Pawan Bansal; Chandigarh Congress president Harmohinder Singh Lucky; and Anandpur Sahib MP Manish Tewari.

At the BJP’s end, which is chasing a third straight poll win in Chandigarh, the local unit has sent the names of former MP Satya Pal Jain, and ex-party presidents Sanjay Tandon and Arun Sood to the high command for a decision.

Key issues:

The key issues revolve around anti-incumbency, the politics of development, caste census, reservations, and the controversy surrounding the mayoral election.

The BJP’s audacious power grab in the Chandigarh mayoral election, shrouded in allegations of manipulation and disregard for democratic practices, has raised concerns about the integrity of the electoral process.

 2019 Lok Sabha Elections

MPs that won from BJP include:    Kirron Kher

Key factors: Unemployment and agricultural concerns.

Electors: 6,15,214

Votes Polled: 4,56,568

Turnout: 74.2%

Also Read Story

Pilibhit Voting: Don’t Know who’s Jitin Prasad, We Know Only Modi

Mehbooba, Altaf, Manhas file nominations for Anantnag-Rajouri LS seat 

ES attaches properties of Raj Kundra and Shilpa Shetty

I went against family wishes to join BJP in 1996: Tamilisai Soundrajan