1st Team To Play 1000 ODIs: India Set To Make History At Narendra Modi Stadium

| Updated: 05 February, 2022 7:26 pm IST

NEW DELHI: Rohit Sharma led Indian Cricket team is set to play 1000th ODI on February 6 at Narendra Modi Stadium, the first side ever to reach the milestone. India will play three ODIs and as many T20Is against the West Indies in Ahmedabad and Kolkata respectively, starting from 6 February.

But fans are upset after BCCI President Ganguly has announced that India vs West Indies ODIs and T20Is will be played behind closed door conditions.

This milestone will be achieved under the new Indian Captain Rohit Sharma. ‘Hitman’ will be making his return from the West Indies series.The ‘Hitman’ returns with the responsibility of captaincy this time. He is now set to lead India in both series after recovering from his hamstring Injury. Rohit and Virat Kohli will play together for the first time since the captaincy saga.

Deepak Hooda has received his maiden ODI call-to the Indian squad. Jasprit Bumrah and Shami have been rested for the series as the selecters want to test the bench strength. Bhuvneshwar only finds a place in the T20I squad. Venkatest Iyer has been dropped from the ODI squad.

After the stunning IPL season of Avesh khan, he featured in both squads. Young leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi gets his maiden call up to the national side for the T20 series against West Indies. Bishnoi, the 21-year-old from Rajasthan, has made the cut by dint of his performance for the Punjab franchise in the IPL. Axar Patel will be available only for T20Is.

Wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav is back in business after recovering from knee surgery. Kuldeep played for India in Sri Lanka in July last year before going for knee surgery.

ODI squad – Rohit Sharma (Capt), KL Rahul (vc), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shikhar, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wk), D Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Y Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohd. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan

T20I squad – Rohit Sharma(Capt),KL Rahul (vc),Ishan Kishan,Virat Kohli,Shreyas Iyer,Surya Kumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk),Venkatesh Iyer,Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Ravi Bishnoi,Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Mohd. Siraj, Bhuvneshwar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel

India’s squad highlights for the WI series:

– Captain Rohit returns.
– Bumrah and Shami rested.
– KL Rahul to be available from the 2nd ODI.
– Hooda and Bishnoi gets his maiden call up.
– Kuldeep returns.
– Jadeja in the final stage of recovery.
– Axar available for T20Is.

Also Read Story

Delhi Police record Swati Maliwal’s 164 CrPC statement

Chandigarh High Court denies bail for Amritpal’s aides

FIR lodged against Delhi CM’s PS for alleged assault

Cyber-attacks on Mammootty persist; politicians show support