At ₹1400 cr, DK is 68% richer than 2018 despite sitting in Opposition

Karnataka Congress chief is second-richest candidate in fray for state assembly elections

NEW DELHI | Updated: 22 April, 2023 3:19 pm IST
Karnataka Congress president DK Shivakumar is the party's time-tested troubleshooter and prove organiser.

With a whopping 68 per cent hike in his assets in the last five years, Karnataka Congress president DK Shivakumar is the second richest candidate in the forthcoming state assembly election.

Filing his nomination papers for the Kanakapura assembly seat, Shivakumar declared his combined assets at ₹1,414 crores, only second behind ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) minister N Nagaraj, aka MTB Nagaraj, who declared assets worth ₹1,609 crores.

Interestingly, it was quite an impressive hike for the Congress leader, who declared his assets worth ₹251 crores in 2013. According to the affidavit submitted to the Election Commission of India (ECI) before contesting the election in 2018, Shivakumar pegged the combined assets held by his family at ₹840 crores.

As per the latest affidavit, the seven-time MLA’s net worth, both movable and immovable, is estimated to be ₹1,214 crores in total.

His wife, Usha Shivakumar, has a total of ₹153.3 crores worth of properties, while his joint family’s properties are worth ₹61 crores. Shivakumar’s son Aakash showed assets worth ₹66 crores.

Shivakumar also owns moveable properties worth ₹970 crores, of which ₹113.38 crores is in the name of his wife and ₹54.33 crores is in the name of his son.

The Kanakpura Congress candidate also displayed a loan in his name totalling ₹226 crores and another loan in his wife’s name totalling ₹34 crores.

The Congressman displayed his annual income as being ₹14.24 crore, while his wife’s is reported as ₹1.9 crores.

Shivakumar, who is also a troubleshooter for the party, is the second most senior leader in the southern state and is also being seen as the chief ministerial candidate with former chief minister Siddaramaiah.

Voting for the 224-member assembly is scheduled for May 10 and the counting of votes will take place on May 13.

Also Read Story

Rishikesh AIIMS visiting faculty accuses doctor of misconduct at India Habitat Centre

Kharge questions PM Modi’s silence on NEET controversy

Roy to be prosecuted under Anti-Terror law

Kejriwal’s wife ordered to remove Court Video